Translate

Total Pageviews

My YouTube Channel

Saturday, 7 October 2017

What's the Impact of Deleting the Snapshot of Parent VM in VMware Horizon View Automated Linked Clone Desktop Pool

In VMware Horizon View Desktop Pools, One of the desktop pool type is Automated Desktop Pool and Under Automated Desktop Pools there are two types of User Assignment
1. Dedicated
2. Floating
In Dedicated, One can refresh the machines at logoff optionally and In Floating, One can optionally Delete or Refresh the machines at logoff.

Now the question is, what is the Impact of Deleting the Snapshot of Parent VM in VMware Horizon View Automated Linked Clone Desktop Pool??????
Scenario 1: Pool User Assignment Type is Floating and Pool is configured with Delete or Refresh at Logoff
If Snapshot of Parent VM is Deleted, You will see following error in your desktop pool summary tab and provisioning gets automatically disabled.


Scenario 2: Pool User Assignment Type is Dedicated and Pool is configured with Refresh at Logoff
If Snapshot of Parent VM is Deleted, You will see same error as in the above screenshot in your desktop pool summary tab and provisioning gets automatically disabled.

Scenario 3: Pool User Assignment Type is Dedicated and Pool is configured with Do not Refresh at Logoff
If Snapshot of Parent VM is Deleted, There will be no impact on your desktop pool. But if you are increasing the max. number of machines in your desktop pool then new provisioning won't work.

How to Handle this Issue in Scenario 1 and Scenario 2:-
In my case, i have not done any changes in Parent VM other than deleting the Snapshot
1. Take a New Snapshot
2. Enable Provisioning at Desktop Pool
2. Take "Recompose" Action
Note:- Parent VM and Its Snapshot is Important if in your environment Scenario 1 and Scenario 2 is Used.