Total Pageviews

My YouTube Channel

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

Identifying the vCenter Single Sign-On server deployment mode (2035817)


vCenter Single Sign-On (SSO) can be deployed in three modes: Basic, Cluster (HA), and Multisite. You can choose one of these modes during the installation. However, after installation, the vSphere Web Client does not indicate the mode in which the server is running.
This article provides information on identifying the deployment mode in which SSO is running.


To identify the SSO deployment mode:
  1. In the vCenter Single Sign-On server, click Start > Run, type regedit, and click OK. The Registry Editor window opens.
  2. Browse to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\VMware, Inc.\VMware Infrastructure\SSOServer\SetupType key.
  3. Check the value of this key. This value determines the SSO deployment mode.

    The value of this key can be:
    • Basic
    • Primary
    • HA
    • Multisite
Note: There are four types of possible values, even though there are only three deployment types. This is because the first node deployed in an HA or Multisite is identified as the Primary node.